Figure A

States that passed laws mandating permanent, statutory restrictions on public employees' collective bargaining rights, 2011–2012

State Legislation
Alabama N/A
Alaska N/A
Arizona N/A
Arkansas N/A
California N/A
Colorado N/A
Connecticut N/A
Delaware N/A
Florida N/A
Georgia N/A
Hawaii N/A
Idaho 2
Illinois 1
Indiana 1
Iowa N/A
Kansas N/A
Kentucky N/A
Louisiana 1
Maine 1
Maryland N/A
Massachusetts N/A
Michigan 1
Minnesota 2
Mississippi N/A
Missouri N/A
Montana N/A
Nebraska 1
Nevada N/A
New Hampshire 1
New Jersey 1
New Mexico N/A
New York N/A
North Carolina N/A
North Dakota N/A
Ohio 2
Oklahoma 1
Oregon N/A
Pennsylvania 1
Rhode Island N/A
South Carolina N/A
South Dakota N/A
Tennessee 1
Texas N/A
Utah N/A
Vermont N/A
Virginia N/A
Washington N/A
West Virginia N/A
Wisconsin 1
Wyoming N/A

Note: This figure does not take account of states that enacted laws concerning public employees' wages and benefits, restrictions on public employees' union dues deductions, or restrictions on teachers' rights to tenure or seniority. In the case of Maine, the state legislature passed laws restricting the collective bargaining rights of certain private-sector employees who are covered under state labor law (see endnotes 3 and 4 for more detail).

Source: Author's analysis of data from National Council of State Legislatures, Collective Bargaining and Labor Union Legislation Database,

Copy the code below to embed this chart on your website.

Previous chart: «

Next chart: »