Press Releases | Jobs and Unemployment

News from EPI Depression-like levels of unemployment for Hispanics and African Americans

Share this page:

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Contact: Karen Conner or Eve Turow, news@epi.org 202-775-8810

In a number of metropolitan areas, the unemployment rate for African Americans and Hispanics approached Great Depression-like levels in 2009, an Economic Policy Institute analysis finds.  The report, Uneven Pain: Unemployment by Metro Area and Race by EPI researcher Algernon Austin, examines unemployment by race in the 50 largest metro areas in the United States. 

The white unemployment rate reached double digits in four metro areas.  Unemployment rates for nonwhite populations were particularly high in three cities: Providence had a Hispanic unemployment rate of 21.4% and Detroit and Minneapolis had African American unemployment rates of 20.9% and 20.4%, respectively.

The Hispanic and African American metro unemployment rates exceeded 1.5 times the white metro unemployment rate in most of the metros analyzed.  In Providence, the Hispanic unemployment rate was double the white rate, and in Minneapolis and Memphis, the African American unemployment rate was three times the white rate.

Below is a list of state groups offering a local analysis of the findings published in this report. These state groups are part of The Economic Analysis and Research Network (EARN): a network of state and regional multi-issue research, policy, and advocacy organizations. The network currently includes 56 organizations in 42 states. EARN is coordinated by the Economic Policy Institute (EPI) and works with a broad range of other national organizations

Arizona

 

Children’s Action Alliance

Amy Kobeta, Vice President, (602) 266-0707

California

San Diego

Center on Policy Initiatives, (619) 584-5744 ext. 34, baxamusa@onlinecpi.org

San Jose

Working Partnerships USA

Jody Meacham, Communications Coordinator, (408) 269-7872, jody@wpusa.org

Colorado

 

Colorado Fiscal Policy Institute

Alec Harris, Policy Analyst, (303) 573-5669 ext. 316, pswanson@cclponline.org

The Bell Policy Center

Joe Watt, Communications Director, (303) 297-0456, watt@thebell.org

Connecticut

 

Connecticut Voices for Children

Joachim Hero, Research Analyst, (203) 498-4240, jhero@ctkidslink.org

Florida

 

Center for Labor Research and Studies

Emily Eisenhauer, Research Associate, (305) 3481415, emily.eisenhauer@fiu.edu

Illinois

 

The Center for Tax and Budget Accountability

Yerik Kaslow, Research Associate, (312) 332-2151, ykaslow@ctbaonline.org

Indiana

 

Indiana Institute for Working Families

Sarah Allen Downing, Research and Policy Assistant, (317) 638-4232, sdowning@incap.org

Maryland

 

Maryland Budget and Tax Policy Institute

Neil Bergsman, Director, (443) 438-2317, nbergsman@mdnonprofit.org

Minnesota

 

JOBS NOW Coalition

Kris Jacobs, Executive Director, (651) 290-0240, kjacobs@jobsnowcoalition.org

Missouri

 

Missouri Progressive Vote Coalition

Morgan Brammer, Operations Director, (314) 531-2288, morgan@missouriprovote.org

New York

 

Fiscal Policy Institute

James Parrott, Deputy Director and Chief Economist, (212) 721-5624, parrott@fiscalpolicy.org

Nevada

 

Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada

Bob Fulkerson, State Director, (775) 348-7557, bfulkerson@planevada.org

New Jersey

 

New Jersey Policy Perspective

Deborah Howlett, President, (609) 393-1145 ext. 18, howlett@njpp.org

New Hampshire

 

New Hampshire Fiscal Policy Institute

Jeff McLynch, Executive Director, (603) 518-4495

North Carolina

 

North Carolina Budget and Tax Center

Alexandra Forter Sirota, Policy Analyst, (919) 861-1468, alexandra@ncjustice.org

Oklahoma

 

Oklahoma Policy Institute

David Blatt, Director, (918) 794-3944, dblatt@okpolicy.org

Pennsylvania

 

Keystone Research Center

Mark Price, Labor Economist, (717) 255-7158, price@keystoneresearch.org

Texas

 

Center for Public Policy Priorities

Don Baylor, Senior Policy Analyst, Economic Opportunity, (512) 320-0222 ext. 108, baylor@cppp.org

Wisconsin

 

Center on Wisconsin Strategy

Laura Dresser, Associate Director, (608) 262-6944, ldresser@cows.org

Virginia

 

The Commonwealth for Fiscal Analysis

Patrick Getlein, Communications Director, (804)643-2474, Patrick@thecommonwealthinstitute.org

Issue Brief: http://www.epi.org/publications/ib278/

EARN: http://www.earncentral.org/index.html