Funder acknowledgments and disclosure principles

Research independence. Effective public policymaking relies on academically rigorous independent analysis and a strong empirical foundation. EPI researchers and authors are solely responsible for their research conclusions and policy recommendations and have the final say on their work. EPI provides both external and internal reviews as part of the publications process. EPI welcomes comments and clarifications from all informed parties to enhance the quality, salience, relevance, and clarity of our work. EPI researchers and author(s) determine how and whether to respond to suggestions by reviewers.

Funding diversity. EPI’s funding base is diverse. The largest portion of our funding comes in the form of foundation grants. EPI also receives support from labor unions, individuals, corporations, and other organizations.

Sources of EPI funding in 2021

Source Share of funding
Foundations 79%
Labor Unions 14%
Corporations/Organizations 2%
Individuals 3%
Other 2%

Donor disclosure. All contributions of $500 or more to the Economic Policy Institute or the EPI Policy Center will be listed on an annual basis. This list includes foundations, businesses, labor organizations, and individuals giving general support, program support, and support for specific reports, activities, and events. The donors will be listed by their annual funding level, based on their aggregate support. Each organization will automatically be listed unless it requests anonymity, in which case it will appear as “anonymous.” Each individual will be listed by name unless he or she asks to be listed as anonymous.

A star (*) denotes supporters who directed all or part of their gift to support the EPI Policy Center.

EPI 2021 Donor Acknowledgment List


$200,000 and up

American Federation of Teachers (AFT)

The Bauman Foundation

Bernard and Anne Spitzer Charitable Trust

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Fidelity Charitable Gift Fund

Ford Foundation

National Education Association

New Venture Fund (The Hub)

Omidyar Network

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Silicon Valley Foundation

Surdna Foundation

Topos Partnership

W.K. Kellogg Foundation

William and Flora Hewlett Foundation





International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Kresge Foundation

Marguerite Casey Foundation

Service Employees International Union

United Auto Workers

United Food & Commercial Workers International Union

United Steelworkers (USW)



Coydog Foundation

Peter G. Peterson Foundation

Present Progressive Fund

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners

The Why Not Initiative



Amalgamated Transit Union

American Income Life (AIL)

Bloom Silma Family Fund

Commercial Metals Company

Communications Workers of America

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

International Brotherhood of Boilermakers

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Menemsha Family Fund

National Association of Letter Carriers


Public Policy Fund – Alliance for American Manufacturing

Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors

Steel Dynamics, Inc.

Ullico Inc.


United Association of Journeymen & Apprentices (Plumbing)

Jules Bernstein

Barry Bluestone

Thea Lee

Linda Lipsett



Cleveland Cliffs, Inc.

The Hummingbird Fund

Impact Assets, Inc.

Iron Workers

Network for Good

Nucor Corporation

US Steel Corporation

John McKee

Philippe Villers




Albert and Bessie Warner Fund

Bank of America Charitable Gift Fund—Trainer Family

The Charles L. Shor Foundation for Epilepsy Research, Inc.

Institute for Women’s Policy Research

The Jen Morgan and Andrew Donnalley Charitable Fund

Omaha Community Foundation

Schwegler Family Charitable Fund

Shiflett-Woolsey Family Fund

The Zaitlin-Nienberg Family Fund

Patrick Allen

Kathryn Anderson

Mark Anderson

Gary D. Bass

Jim Campen

John Cawley

Mary Ann Cogelow

Lynn-Marie Crider

Sheldon Danziger

Ronald Dickey

Berry Dilley

Cory and Bob Donnalley

Anita Dunn

Kristin Ecklund

Noelia Erazo

Henry S. Farber

Edward J. Ford

Carolyn Fuller

Shelley Geballe

Susan Goldhor

Marilyn Jones

Ingrid Justin

Ronald Lee

Eric Lehto

Wilma Liebman

Lisa Lynch

Stephen Martin

Peter Martinazzi

Monica Miller

Claire K. Morse

Richard J. Murnane

Nick Penniman

Sue Ravenscroft

Craig Russell

Robert Samuel

Dan Santantonio

Jean F. Schulz

Catherine Scott

Heidi Shierholz

Michael Sirotkin

John O. Snead

Barbara Somson

Lauren Steiner

John Storey

Sharon Stout

Gregory Tarpinian

Donald Taylor

Laura Tyson

Michael Wessel

Catherine Woolner



Betsy L. Cotton Charitable Fund

David Bell & Katherine Newman Fund

Give Lively Foundation

Gloeckle Family Fund

Kainen-Kleinberg Giving Fund

Maritime Trades Dept., AFL-CIO

Nancy K. Anderson Charitable Fund

Schumacher Simmons Family Charitable Fund

Social Good Fund

United Way of the National Capital Area

Joni Anderson

Luc Anselin

Jeremy Avins

Noah Berger

Schorr Berman

Donna J. Brian

James Brudney

Duncan Campbell

Martin Carnoy

Michael Carter

Kenneth Cluskey

Augustus Cochran

Janet R. Dakan

Dorothy Dean

Julie Di Lorenzo

Cooper Donnalley

Jeff Faux

Holly Fechner

Howell Ferguson

Bill Findley

Kenneth Floryan

Marsha Fretwell

Daniel Gillmor

Beth Gutwin

Mary Hayden

Robert Lucore

Michael Kaufman

Charles Kerchner

Gerard MacDonell

Norman Markel

Mark McDermott

Barbara J. Meislin

Elaine Nonneman

Roger Pritchard

Seemin Qayum

Helen Quinn

Lynn Rhinehart

F.D. Roosevelt III

Grace Roosevelt

Jesse Rothstein

Carol Schatz

Laurence Shute

Amanda Silver

Mark Smith

Jeff Soulen

Emily Spieler

Mary Stevenson

Rosemarie Swanson

Kathi & John Thonet

Annie Umbricht

Darren Walloch

Patrick Watson

Deborah Weinstein

Mary Ann Wilner