The minimum wage increased in 21 states and the District of Columbia in 2017: States with minimum-wage increases in 2017, by type of increase

State Abbreviation Category
Alaska AK Indexed
Alabama AL No change
Arkansas AR Legislated
Arizona AZ Legislated
California CA Legislated
Colorado CO Legislated
Connecticut CT Legislated
District of Columbia DC Legislated
Delaware DE No change
Florida FL Indexed
Georgia GA No change
Hawaii HI Legislated
Iowa IA No change
Idaho ID No change
Illinois IL No change
Indiana IN No change
Kansas KS No change
Kentucky KY No change
Louisiana LA No change
Massachusetts MA Legislated
Maryland MD Legislated
Maine ME Legislated
Michigan MI Legislated
Minnesota MN No change
Missouri MO Indexed
Mississippi MS No change
Montana MT Indexed
North Carolina NC No change
North Dakota ND No change
Nebraska NE No change
New Hampshire NH No change
New Jersey NJ Indexed
New Mexico NM No change
Nevada NV No change
New York NY Legislated
Ohio OH Indexed
Oklahoma OK No change
Oregon OR Legislated
Pennsylvania PA No change
Rhode Island RI No change
South Carolina SC No change
South Dakota SD Indexed
Tennessee TN No change
Texas TX No change
Utah UT No change
Virginia VA No change
Vermont VT Legislated
Washington WA Legislated
Wisconsin WI No change
West Virginia WV No change
Wyoming WY No change

Notes: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, Vermont, and Washington legislated minimum wage increases that took effect on January 1, 2017. Alaska, Florida, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, and South Dakota increased their minimum wages in 2017 because of indexing to inflation. Maryland, Oregon, and Washington, D.C., legislated minimum wage increases that took effect on July 1, 2017.

Source: EPI analysis of the EPI Minimum Wage Tracker (; last updated January 2, 2018)

View the underlying data on