The Economic Policy Institute Minimum Wage Tracker

The federal minimum wage has not been raised since 2009. In the absence of action at the national level, many states and localities have raised their own minimum wages. Explore the map to see how these rapidly changing laws differ across the country, and read EPI’s recent research explaining the benefits of raising the minimum wage and eliminating the subminimum wage for tipped workersAs of July 10, 2017

[state] State [locality] Locality [min_wage] Minimum wage* [min_wage last_inc] Most recent increase [min_wage up_inc] Upcoming increases [min_wage indexing] Indexing [min_wage last_change] Most recent major change to minimum-wage law [min_wage notes] Notes [tip_wage] Subminimum wage for tipped workers / Tipped wage* [tip_wage last_inc] Most recent increase [tip_wage up_inc] Upcoming increases [tip_wage last_change] Most recent major change to tipped-wage law [tip_wage notes] Notes
Alabama
Alabama Birmingham $7.25 $8.50, effective 7-1-2016* / $10.10, effective 7-1-2017 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018 Annual increases based on “the increase, if any, in the cost of living.” Birmingham enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. * The Alabama state legislature passed a law in March 2016, shortly before the ordinance was to go into effect, preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage. $4.25, effective 7-1-2016* / $5.05, effective 7-1-2017 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018 Birmingham enacted its own tipped wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. * The Alabama state legislature passed a law in March 2016, shortly before the ordinance was to go into effect, preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage. The city ordinance sets a tipped minimum wage at 50 percent of the city’s regular minimum wage.
 Alaska $9.80 $9.75 to $9.80, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U for Anchorage metropolitan area. 2014, by ballot measure $9.80 $9.75 to $9.80, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 2014, by ballot measure Same as regular minimum wage.
 Arizona $10.00 $8.05 to $10.00, effective 1-1-2017 $10.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 Annual increases based on the percentage change (August-to-August) in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2016, by ballot measure $7.00 $5.05 to $7.00, effective 1-1-2017 $7.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $8.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $9.00, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 2016, by ballot measure Set at $3.00 per hour less than the regular minimum wage.
Arizona Flagstaff $10.50 $10.00 to $10.50, effective 7-1-2017 $11.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.00, effective 1-1-2020 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2021 / $15.50, effective 1-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2023 Annual increases based on the percentage change (August-to-August) in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2016, by ballot measure Flagstaff enacted its own minimum wage by ballot measure in 2016. $7.50 $5.05 to $7.50, effective 1-1-2017 $8.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $9.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $10.00, effective 1-1-2020 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2021 /$13.00, effective 1-1-2022 / $2.00 less than the regular minimum, effective 1-1-2023 / $1.50 less than the regular minimum, effective 1-1-2024 / $1.00 less than the regular minimum, effective 1-1-2025 / same as regular minimum wage, effective 1-1-2026 2016, by ballot measure The Flagstaff tipped minimum wage will be gradually raised over a 10-year period until it is equal to the regular minimum wage in 2026. At that point, tipped employees will receive the regular minimum wage before tips.
 Arkansas $8.50 $8.00 to $8.50, effective 1-1-2017 2014, by ballot measure $2.63
 California $10.50 $10.00 to $10.50, effective 1-1-2017 $11.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.00, effective 1-1-2020 / $14.00, effective 1-1-2021 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2023 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U, rounded to the nearest 10 cents, beginning 1-1-2023. 2016, by legislation The law provides the governor with the ability to temporarily pause the raises in the case of a forecast budget deficit of more than 1 percent of annual revenue, or due to an economic downturn. Inflation indexing cannot go beyond 3.5 percent in any given year. Small businesses (those with 25 or fewer employees) will have an extra year to comply. $10.50 $10.00 to $10.50, effective 1-1-2017 $11.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.00, effective 1-1-2020 / $14.00, effective 1-1-2021 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2022 2016, by legislation Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Berkeley $12.53 $11.00 to $12.53, effective 10-1-2016 $13.75, effective 10-1-2017 / $15.00, effective 10-1-2018 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. The Berkeley City Council revised its minimum wage ordinance in 2016. Employees in the Employer Youth Works and job training participants up to 25 years of age may be paid a minium wage of $12.00 as of 10-1-2017, $13.25 as of 10-1-2018, and $14.50 as of 7-1-2019. As of 7-1-2020, these employees must be paid the regular minimum wage. $12.53 $11.00 to $12.53, effective 10-1-2016 $13.75, effective 10-1-2017 / $15.00, effective 10-1-2018 The Berkeley City Council revised its minimum wage ordinance in 2016. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Cupertino $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Cupertino enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. The law provides the city council with the ability to temporarily pause the raises in the event of significant reductions in statewide employment or state retail and use tax receipts. $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Cupertino enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance Same as regular minimum wage.
California El Cerrito $12.25 $11.60 to $12.25, effective 1-1-2017 $13.60, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area. El Cerrito enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. $12.25 $11.60 to $12.25, effective 1-1-2017 $13.60, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 El Cerrito enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Emeryville $15.20 $14.82 to $15.20, effective 7-1-2017 For larger businesses: Annual indexing, effective 7-1-2017 / For smaller businesses: $14.00, effective 7-1-2017; $15.00, effective 7-1-2018; equivalent to larger business minimum, effective 7-1-2019 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area. Emeryville enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. A lower minimum wage of $13.00 applies for businesses with 55 or fewer employees. This small business minimum wage will be increased on a separate schedule from the larger business minimum wage, until July 1, 2019, when the larger business minimum wage will apply to all businesses. $15.20 $14.82 to $15.20, effective 7-1-2017 For larger businesses: Annual indexing 7-1-2017. / For smaller businesses: $14.00, effective 7-1-2017; $15.00, effective 7-1-2018; equivalent to larger business minimum effective 7-1-2019 Emeryville enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. For larger businesses, the Emeryville tipped minimum wage is the same as the regular minimum wage. For smaller businesses (fewer than 56 employees), the tipped minimum wage is currently $13.00 per hour, with increases scheduled that will gradually bring it to parity with the regular minimum wage.
California Los Altos $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Los Altos enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. The law provides the city council with the ability to temporarily pause the raises in the event of significant reductions in statewide employment or state retail and use tax receipts. $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Los Altos enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Los Angeles $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-W for the Los Angeles metropolitan area, beginning July 1, 2022. Los Angeles enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. The minimum wage as listed applies to businesses with 26 or more employees. Businesses with fewer than 26 employees are subject to the listed minimum wage one year after the date effective for larger businesses. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Los Angeles enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Los Angeles County $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-W for the Los Angeles metropolitan area, beginning July 1, 2022. Los Angeles County enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by county ordinance. The minimum wage as listed applies to businesses with 26 or more employees. Businesses with fewer than 26 employees are subject to the listed minimum wage one year after the date effective for larger businesses. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Los Angeles County enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by county ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Malibu $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-W for the Los Angeles-Riverside-Orange County metropolitan area, beginning July 1, 2022. Malibu enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by county ordinance. The minimum wage as listed applies to businesses with 26 or more employees. Businesses with fewer than 26 employees are subject to the listed minimum wage one year after the date effective for larger businesses. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Malibu enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by county ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Milpitas $11.00 $10.50 to $11.00, effective 7-1-2017 $12.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $13.50, effective 7-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2020 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-U for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Milpitas enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance. The minimum wage applies to adult and minor employees who work 2 or more hours per week. $11.00 $10.50 to $11.00, effective 7-1-2017 $12.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $13.50, effective 7-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2020 Milpitas enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Mountain View $13.00 $11.00 to $13.00, effective 1-1-2017 $15.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, beginning January 1, 2019. Mountain View updated its minimum wage law on November 10, 2015, by city council ordinance. $13.00 $11.00 to $13.00, effective 1-1-2017 $15.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Mountain View updated its minimum wage law on November 10, 2015, by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Oakland $12.86 $12.55 to $12.86, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area. Oakland enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by ballot measure. $12.86 $12.55 to 12.86, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Oakland enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by ballot measure. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Palo Alto $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Palo Alto updated its minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Palo Alto updated its minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Pasadena $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019* / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020* / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-W for the Los Angeles-Riverside-Orange County metropolitan area, beginning July 1, 2022. Pasadena enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by county ordinance. The minimum wage as listed applies to businesses with 26 or more employees. Businesses with fewer than 26 employees are subject to the listed minimum wage one year after the date effective for larger businesses. Nonprofit employers with 26 or more employees may also qualify for a one-year deferral of the higher minimum wage requirements. *The 2019 and 2020 scheduled increases must be authorized by the city council following a review of the economic impact of the 2016-2018 increases. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Pasadena enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by county ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Richmond $12.30 $11.52 to $12.30, effective 1-1-2017 $13.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, beginning January 1, 2019. Richmond enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by city council ordinance. Employers who pay at least $1.50 per hour toward an employee medical benefits plan may pay $1.50 less than the applicable minimum wage. $12.30 $11.52 to $12.30, effective 1-1-2017 $13.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Richmond enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California San Diego $11.50 $10.50 to $11.50, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. San Diego enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. The city’s minimum wage is likely to be superceded by the state minimum wage in 2019, when the state minimum wage is scheduled to rise to $12.00. $11.50 $10.50 to $11.50, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 San Diego enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California San Francisco $14.00 $13.00 to $14.00, effective 7-1-2017 $15.00, effective 7-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the calendar year percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, beginning January 1, 2019. 2014, by ballot measure $14.00 $13.00 to $14.00, effective 7-1-2017 $15.00, effective 7-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 2014, by ballot measure Same as regular minimum wage.
California San Jose $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2016, by city council ordinance The law provides the city manager with the ability to temporarily pause the raises in the event of significant declines in state sales tax revenue and employment, with specific requirements outlined in the ordinance. Inflation indexing cannot go beyond 5 percent in any given year. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 2016, by city council ordinance Same as regular minimum wage.
California San Leandro $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 2016, by city council ordinance Employees up to 25 years of age who are employed by a nonprofit or government entity for after-school or summer employment are not subject to the minimum wage. $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 2016, by city council ordinance Employees up to 25 years of age who are employed by a nonprofit or government entity for after-school or summer employment are not subject to the minimum wage.
California San Mateo $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, beginning January 1, 2020. San Mateo enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. The city’s ordinance sets a slower increase schedule for nonprofit organizations, with increases to $10.50 on January 1, 2017, $12.00 on January 1, 2018, and $13.50 on January 1, 2019. The same annual indexing will be applied beginning January 1, 2020. $12.00 $10.00 to $12.00, effective 1-1-2017 $13.50, effective 1-1-2018  / $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 San Mateo enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Santa Clara $11.10 $11.00 to $11.10, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Santa Clara enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. $11.10 $11.00 to $11.10, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Santa Clara enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
California Santa Monica $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-W for the Los Angeles metropolitan area, beginning July 1, 2022. Santa Monica enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Santa Monica’s minimum wage schedule applies to businesses with at least 26 employees. Smaller businesses will be subject to the same minimum-wage rates and raise schedule delayed by one year (i.e., an increase to $10.15 in July 2017 and reaching $15 in July 2021.) $12.00 $10.50 to $12.00, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Santa Monica enacted its own minimum wage in 2016 by city council ordinance. Same as regular minimum wage.
 California Sunnyvale $13.00 $11.00 to $13.00, effective 1-1-2017 $15.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W for the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. The Sunnyvale City Council updated its minimum wage ordinance in 2016. $13.00 $11.00 to $13.00, effective 1-1-2017 $15.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 The Sunnyvale City Council updated its minimum wage ordinance in 2016. Same as regular minimum wage.
 Colorado $9.30 $8.31 to $9.30, effective 1-1-2017 $10.20, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.10, effective 1-1-2019 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 Annual increases based on the first-half-of-the-year to first-half-of-the-year percentage change in the CPI-U for the Boulder-Denver region, beginning 1-1-2021. 2016, by constitutional amendment $6.28 $5.29 to $6.28, effective 1-1-2017 $7.18, effective 1-1-2018 / $8.08, effective 1-1-2019 / $8.98, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 2016, by constitutional amendment Colorado’s tipped minimum wage is set at $3.02 less than the regular minimum wage.
 Connecticut $10.10 $9.60 to $10.10, effective 1-1-2017 2014, by legislation $6.38 $6.07 to $6.38, effective 1-1-2017 2014, by legislation Hotel workers and restaurant waitstaff are subject to a tipped minimum wage equal to 63.2 percent of the regular minimum wage. Bartenders have a separate minimum wage equal to 81.5 percent of the regular minimum wage. Thus, the tipped minimum wage for bartenders is $8.23.
 Delaware $8.25 $7.75 to $8.25, effective 6-1-2015 2014, by legislation $2.23 $2.23, effective 10-1-1996
Washington D.C. $12.50 $11.50 to $12.50, effective 7-1-2017 $13.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $14.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2021 Annual increases based on the 12-month percentage change in the CPI-U for the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, rounded to the nearest 5 cents, beginning 7-1-2021. 2016, by city council ordinance The D.C. ordinance specifies that in the event the federal minimum wage is increased above the specified District minimum wage, the District minimum wage will equal $1 more than the federal minimum wage. The ordinance also specifies that the mayor must report biannually on employers’ compliance with the minimum wage, describing the volume of audits and inspections, compliance rates, and any actions taken to remedy infractions. $3.33 $2.77 to $3.33, effective 7-1-2017 $3.89, effective 7-1-2018 / $4.45, effective 7-1-2019 / $5.00, effective 7-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2021 2016, by city council ordinance The D.C. ordinance specifies that the mayor must report biannually on employers’ compliance with the minimum wage, describing the volume of audits and inspections, compliance rates, and any actions taken to remedy infractions.
 Florida $8.10 $8.05 to $8.10, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the annual percentage change in the CPI-W for the South census region. 2004, by ballot measure $5.08 $5.03 to $5.08, effective 1-1-2017 The tipped minimum wage is set at the regular minimum wage minus a fixed tip credit of $3.02.
 Georgia $5.15 $5.15, effective 1-1-2001 2001 Employees covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are subject to the federal minimum wage of $7.25, but those not covered under the FLSA may be paid the state minimum wage of $5.15. Georgia exempts tipped employees from its minimum-wage law.
 Hawaii $9.25 $8.50 to $9.25, effective 1-1-2017 $10.10, effective 1-1-2018 2014, by legislation Employees guaranteed a monthly compensation of $2,000 or more are exempt from the state minimum wage law. $9.25 $8.50 to $9.25, effective 1-1-2017 $10.10, effective 1-1-2018 2014, by legislation Generally the tipped minimum wage is the same as the regular minimum wage. Employers may pay $0.50 below the regular minimum wage if an employee’s combined base wage plus tips exceeds $7.00 per hour more than the regular minimum wage.
 Idaho $7.25 2007, by legislation Idaho’s minimum wage is set equal to the federal minimum wage by statute. $3.35
 Illinois $8.25 $8.00 to $8.25, effective 7-1-2010 2009, by legislation $4.95 $4.95, effective 7-1-2010 Illinois’s tipped minimum wage is set at 60 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Illinois Chicago $11.00 $10.50 to $11.00, effective 7-1-2017 $12.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $13.00, effective 7-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2020 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U beginning July 1, 2020, capped at 2.5 percent, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Chicago enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by city council ordinance. The minimum wage will not increase when Chicago’s unemployment rate is greater than 8.5 percent for the preceding year. $6.10 $5.95 to $6.10, effective 7-1-2017 Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2017 2014, by city council ordinance Beginning July 1, 2020, Chicago’s tipped minimum wage will be increased by the percentage change in the CPI-U, capped at 2.5 percent, and rounded to the nearest 5 cents. No increase will take effect if the unemployment rate in Chicago is greater than 8.5 percent for the preceding year.
 Illinois Cook County $10.00 $8.25 to $10.00, effective 7-1-2017 $11.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $13.00, effective 7-1-2020 /  Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2021 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U beginning July 1, 2021, capped at 2.5 percent, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. Cook County enacted its own minimum wage ordinance in 2016. The minimum wage will not increase when Cook County’s unemployment rate is greater than 8.5 percent for the preceding year. $4.95 $4.95, effective 7-1-2010 Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018 2016, by county ordinance
 Indiana $7.25 Indiana’s minimum wage is set equal to the federal minimum wage by statute. $2.13 Indiana’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the federal tipped minimum wage by statute.
 Iowa $7.25 $7.25, effective 1-1-2008 Iowa’s minimum wage is set at the higher of $7.25 or the current federal minimum wage. $4.35 $4.35, effective 1-1-2008 Iowa’s tipped minimum wage is set at 60 percent of the regular minimum wage.
Iowa Johnson County $7.25 $9.15 to $10.10, effective 1-1-2017* Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018* Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U for the Midwest region for the preceding calendar year. 2015, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Johnson County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing a minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective minimum wage in Johnson County from $10.10 down to $7.25. $4.35 $5.49 to $6.06, effective 1-1-2017* Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018* 2015, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Johnson County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing any minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective tipped minimum wage in Johnson County from $6.06 down to $4.35.
Iowa Linn County $7.25 $7.25 to $8.25, effective 1-1-2017* $9.25, effective 1-1-2018* / $10.25, effective 1-1-2019 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Linn County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing a minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective minimum wage in Linn County from $8.25 down to $7.25. $4.35 $4.35 to $4.95, effective 1-1-2017* $5.55, effective 1-1-2018* / $6.15, effective 1-1-2019 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Linn County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing any minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective tipped minimum wage in Linn County from $4.95 down to $4.35.
Iowa Polk County $7.25 $8.75, effective 4-1-2017* / $9.75, effective 1-1-2018 / $10.75, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U, beginning January 1, 2020. 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Polk County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing a minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. $4.35 $5.00, effective 4-1-2017* 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Polk County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing any minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage.
Iowa Wapello County $7.25 $7.25 to $8.20, effective 1-1-2017* $9.15, effective 1-1-2018* / $10.10, effective 1-1-2019 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Wapello County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing a minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective minimum wage in Wapello County from $8.25 down to $7.25. $4.35 $4.35 to $4.92, effective 1-1-2017* $5.49, effective 1-1-2018* / $6.06, effective 1-1-2019 2016, by county ordinance* *On March 30, 2017, Iowa’s governor signed HF 295, a bill that nullified Wapello County’s minimum wage ordinance, and preempted any local government in Iowa from establishing any minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. This lowered the effective tipped minimum wage in Wapello County from $4.92 down to $4.35.
 Kansas $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 7-1-2009 2009, by legislation $2.13 Kansas’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the federal tipped minimum wage by statute.
 Kentucky $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 7-1-2009 2007, by legislation Kentucky’s minimum wage is set at the higher of $7.25 or the current federal minimum wage. $2.13 Kentucky’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the federal tipped minimum wage by statute.
 Kentucky Lexington $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 7-1-2009 Lexington’s Urban County Council enacted its own minimum wage in 2015.* *In October 2016, the Kentucky Supreme Court ruled that cities do not have the authority to raise the minimum wage, and the Lexington minimum wage was rolled back to $7.25. $2.13
 Kentucky Louisville $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 7-1-2009 Louisville enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by metro council ordinance.* *In October 2016, the Kentucky Supreme Court ruled that cities do not have the authority to raise the minimum wage, and the Louisville minimum wage was rolled back to $7.25. $2.13
 Louisiana
Maine $9.00 $7.50 to $9.00, effective 1-1-2017 $10.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W for the Northeast Region, rounded to the nearest 5 cents, beginning 1-1-2021. 2016, by ballot measure $5.00 $3.75 to $5.00, effective 1-1-2017 $6.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $7.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $8.00, effective 1-1-2020 / $9.00, effective 1-1-2021 / $10.00, effective 1-1-2022 / $11.00, effective 1-1-2023 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2024 / Annual $1.00 increases until equal to the regular minimum wage 2016, by ballot measure Maine’s tipped minimum wage will rise to $5.00 in 2017 and then be increased by $1.00 annually until it is equal to the regular minimum wage.
Maine Portland $10.68 $10.10 to $10.68, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2018 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U for the preceding calendar year. Portland enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city council ordinance. $5.00 $3.75 to $5.00, effective 1-1-2017 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI-U for the preceding calendar year. 2015, by city council ordinance Portland’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to $3.75 less than the city’s regular minimum wage.
 Maryland $9.25 $8.75 to $9.25, effective 7-1-2017 $10.10, effective 7-1-2018 2014, by legislation Amusement parks and recreational establishments are only required to pay 85 percent of the regular minimum wage. $3.63 2014 Prior to the legislation that increased the regular minimum wage in 2014, the Maryland tipped minimum wage was set at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage. As of 2014, it is set at the fixed amount of $3.63 per hour, and will no longer automatically go up as the regular minimum wage increases.
 Maryland Montgomery County $11.50 $10.75 to $11.50, effective 7-1-2017 Montgomery County enacted its own minimum wage in 2013 by county ordinance. Amusement parks and recreational establishments are only required to pay 85 percent of the regular minimum wage. $4.00 2015, by county ordinance The Montgomery County Council originally set the tipped minimum wage at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage. In 2015, it amended the ordinance to freeze the tipped minimum wage at $4.00 per hour, regardless of any subsequent changes in the regular minimum wage.
 Maryland Prince George’s County $10.75 $9.55 to $10.75, effective 10-1-2016 $11.50, effective 10-1-2017 Prince George’s County enacted its own minimum wage in 2013 by county ordinance. Amusement parks and recreational establishments are only required to pay 85 percent of the regular minimum wage. $3.63 Prince George’s County’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the state tipped minimum wage.
 Massachusetts $11.00 $10.00 to $11.00, effective 1-1-2017 2014, by legislation The Massachusetts minimum wage automatically increases to 10 cents above the federal minimum wage if the federal minimum wage is set equal to or above the state minimum wage. $3.75 $3.35 to $3.75, effective 1-1-2017 2014, by legislation
 Michigan $8.90 $8.50 to $8.90, effective 1-1-2017 $9.25, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 4-1-2019 Annual increases based on the 5-year average annual percentage change in the CPI for the Midwest census region, beginning April 1, 2019. Increases not to exceed 3.5 percent. No inflation adjustment will be made if the state unemployment rate is 8.5 percent or higher. 2014, by legislation $3.38 $3.23 to $3.38, effective 1-1-2017 $3.52, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 4-1-2019 2014, by legislation Tipped employees must be paid 38 percent of the regular state minimum wage.
 Minnesota $9.50 $9.00 to $9.50, effective 8-1-2016 Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2018 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the price deflator for national personal consumption expenditures (PCE), with a maximum increase of 2.5 percent, beginning January 1, 2018. 2014, by legislation Employers with less than $500,000 in annual sales volume are subject to a minimum wage of $7.75. $9.50 $9.00 to $9.50, effective 8-1-2016 Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2018 2014, by legislation Same as the regular minimum wage. Employers with less than $500,000 in annual sales volume are subject to a minimum wage of $7.75.
 Minnesota Minneapolis $9.50 $10.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $12.25, effective 7-1-2019 /$13.25, effective 7-1-2020 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2021 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the price deflator for national personal consumption expenditures (PCE), with a maximum increase of 2.5 percent. Minneapolis enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance. Businesses with fewer than 100 employees are subject to separate increase schedule: $10.25, effective 7-1-2018; $11.00, effective 7-1-2019; $11.75 , effective 7-1-2020; $12.50, effective 7-1-2021; $13.50, effective 7-1-2022; $14.50, effective 7-1-2023; $15.00, effective 7-1-2024. $9.50 $10.00, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.25, effective 7-1-2018 / $12.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $13.25, effective 7-1-2020 / $14.25, effective 7-1-2021 / $15.00, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 Minneapolis enacted its own minimum wage in 2017 by city council ordinance. Same as the regular minimum wage. Businesses with fewer than 100 employees are subject to separate increase schedule: $10.25, effective 7-1-2018; $11.00, effective 7-1-2019; $11.75 , effective 7-1-2020; $12.50, effective 7-1-2021; $13.50, effective 7-1-2022; $14.50, effective 7-1-2023; $15.00, effective
 Mississippi
 Missouri $7.70 $7.65 to $7.70, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the July-to-July percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents. 2006, by ballot measure $3.85 $3.83 to $3.85, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing beginning January 1 2006, by ballot measure The Missouri tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage.
Missouri Kansas City $7.70 $8.50, effective 8-24-2015* / $9.82, effective 1-1-2017 / $10.96, effective 1-1-2018 / $11.98, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.00, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 Annual increases based on the July-to-July percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents, beginning 1-1-2021.* Kansas City enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city ordinance.* *The Missouri state legislature passed a law in September 2015 preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage. Kansas City’s ordinance may be “grandfathered in,” allowing the measure to take effect as planned; however, the law is currently under review. $3.85 $3.83 to $3.85, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1* Kansas City enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city ordinance.* The Kansas City tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular state minimum wage. * The Missouri state legislature passed a law in September 2015 preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage.
Missouri St. Louis $7.70 $7.70 to $10.00, effective 5-5-2017* $11.00, beginning 1-1-2018* Annual increases based on the July-to-July percentage change in the CPI-W, St. Louis metropolitan area, rounded to nearest 5 cents, beginning 1-1-2018.* St. Louis enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city ordinance.* *The Missouri state legislature passed a law in September 2015 preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage. St. Louis’s ordinance was originally thought to be “grandfathered in,” however, a circuit judge struck down the measure in October 2015 just before it was scheduled to take effect. The Missouri Supreme Court subsequently struck down the state wage law in February 2017, overturning the circuit judge’s decision. The ordinance went into effect on May 5, 2017. However, the state legislature subsequently passed a new premption law to undo the St. Louis increase. The governor allowed the bill to go into effect in July 2017, thereby lowering the city minimum wage back down to $7.70. $3.85 $3.85 to $5.00, effective 5-5-2017* $5.50, effective 1-1-2018* / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 St. Louis enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by city ordinance.* The St. Louis tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular city minimum wage. *The Missouri state legislature passed a law in September 2015 preempting local governments from adopting minimum wages above the state’s minimum wage. St. Louis’s ordinance was originally thought to be “grandfathered in,” allowing the measure to take effect as planned; however, a circuit judge struck down the measure in October 2015. The Missouri Supreme Court subsequently struck down the state wage law in February 2017, overturning the circuit judge’s decision. The ordinance went into effect on May 5, 2017. However, the state legislature subsequently passed a new premption law to undo the St. Louis increase. The governor allowed the bill to go into effect in July 2017, thereby lowering the city tipped minimum wage back down to $3.85.
 Montana $8.15 $8.05 to $8.15, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2006, by ballot measure Minimum wage of $4.00 applies to all businesses that have gross annual sales less than $110,000 and that are not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. $8.15 Annual indexing effective January 1 2006, by ballot measure Same as the regular minimum wage.
 Nebraska $9.00 $8.00 to $9.00, effective 1-1-2016 2014, by ballot initiative $2.13
 Nevada $8.25 $7.55 to $8.25, effective 1-1-2014 Annual increases may occur on July 1 of each year based on the percentage change in the CPI-U, if certain circumstances apply. See notes. No single-year adjustments can exceed 3 percent. 2006, by constitutional amendment Nevada’s minimum wage is set at $1.00 above the federal minimum wage for firms not providing health insurance. The minimum may be increased more than $1.00 above the federal minimum wage if cumulative inflation, as measured by the CPI-U, is larger than the percentage change in the federal minimum wage since December 31, 2004. $8.25 Same as the regular minimum wage.
 New Hampshire $7.25 2011, by legislation In 2011, the New Hampshire legislature eliminated the minimum wage established by the state, setting it equal to the value set by the federal minimum wage. $3.26 The New Hampshire tipped minimum wage is set at 45 percent of the effective regular minimum wage.
 New Jersey $8.44 $8.38 to $8.44, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average. 2013, by constitutional amendment $2.13 Same as the federal tipped minimum wage.
 New Mexico $7.50 $6.50 to $7.50, effective 1-1-2009 2007 $2.13
 New Mexico Albuquerque $8.80 $8.75 to $8.80, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in CPI-W, U.S. city average, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2012 Employees receiving health care or child care benefits at an annualized cost of $2,500 or more may be paid $1.00 less than the effective minimum wage hourly rate. $5.28 $5.25 to $5.28, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 2012 The Albuquerque tipped minimum wage is set at 60 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 New Mexico Bernalillo County $8.70 $8.65 to $8.70, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the percentage change in CPI, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2013, by county ordinance Does not apply to the City of Albuquerque, which sets its own minimum wage. Employees receiving health care or child care benefits at an annualized cost of $2,500 or more may be paid $1.00 less than the effective minimum wage hourly rate. $2.13
 New Mexico Las Cruces $9.20 $8.40 to $9.20, effective 1-1-2017 Indexed value, effective 1-1-2018 / $10.10, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing, beginning 1-1-2020 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in CPI-W for the West census region, rounded to the nearest 5 cents, beginning January 1, 2018. Las Cruces enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by city council ordinance. Las Cruces’s ordinance indexes the minimum wage beginning on January 1, 2018, yet will then have a statutory increase to $10.10 effective January 1, 2019. The ordinance calls for automatic inflation adjustment in the years thereafter; however, it is ambiguous as to whether the adjustment will be made based on the 2018 value or the 2019 value. The city council intends to clarify. $3.68 $3.36 to $3.68, effective 1-1-2017 Indexed value effective 1-1-2018 / $4.04, effective 1-1-2019 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2020 Las Cruces enacted its own tipped minimum wage in 2014. The tipped minimum wage is set at 40 percent of the regular city minimum wage.
 New Mexico Santa Fe City $10.91 $10.84 to $10.91, effective 3-1-2016 Annual indexing effective March 1 Annual increases based on the previous year’s percentage change in the CPI-W for the West census region. 2003, by city ordinance Santa Fe’s minimum wage law is similar to “living wage” laws in other cities that require any business under contract with the city government to pay a determined “living wage.” Santa Fe, however, extends this requirement to any business granted a business license to operate within city limits. $2.13
 New Mexico Santa Fe County $10.91 $10.84 to $10.91, effective 3-1-2016 Annual indexing effective March 1 Annual increases based on the previous year’s percentage change in the CPI-W for the West census region. 2014, by county ordinance $3.27 $3.25 to $3.27, effective 3-1-2016 Annual indexing effective March 1 2014 The Santa Fe County tipped minimum wage is set at 30 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 New York $9.70 $9.00 to $9.70, effective 12-31-2016 $10.40, effective 12-31-2017 / $11.10, effective 12-31-2018 / $11.80, effective 12-31-2019 / $12.50, effective 12-31-2020 / Annual indexing starting 12-31-2021 to be determined on a year-to-year basis Indexed schedule (to reach but not exceed $15.00 per hour) to be set by the Director of the Division of Budget in consultation with the Department of Labor 2016, by legislation This is the base minimum wage for the state that applies to all areas outside New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties. State law establishes separate minimum wage rates for New York City and downstate counties. The New York minimum wage law allows for wage orders that govern wage requirements in specific industries. In 2015, a wage board for the fast food industry set the minimum wage in fast food at $10.50 in New York City and $9.75 for the rest of the state as of 12-31-2015. The fast food minimum wage will increase by $1.50 per year in New York City until it reaches $15 on 12-31-2018. In the rest of the state, it will increase by $1 each year until it reaches $13.75 on 12-31-2019. It will then increase by $0.75 on 12-31-2020 and by $0.50 on 7-1-2021, bringing it to $15. $7.50 $5.65 to $7.50, effective 12-31-2015 $7.85, effective 12-31-2019 / $8.35, effective 12-31-2020 / Annual indexing starting 12-31-2021 to be determined on a year-to-year basis 2016, by state legislation New York’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the greater of $7.50 or two-thirds of the regular minimum wage or the prevailing minimum wage of a given geography. This rate applies to all tipped workers except those in the fast food industry, who are subject to a separate minimum wage schedule.
 New York New York City $11.00 $9.00 to $11.00, effective 12-31-2016 $13.00, effective 12-31-2017 / $15.00, effective 12-31-2018 2016, by legislation Small businesses (those with 10 employees or fewer) would start at $10.50 by 12-31-2016, and increase by $1.50 each year thereafter until they reach $15 on 12-31-2019. $7.50 $8.65, effective 12-31-2017 / $10.00, effective 12-31-2018 2016, by state legislation New York’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the greater of $7.50 or two thirds of the regular minimum wage or the prevailing minimum wage of a given geography and size employer. This rate applies to all tipped workers except those in the fast food industry, who are subject to a separate minimum-wage schedule.
 New York Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties $10.00 $9.00 to $10.00, effective 12-31-2016 $11.00, effective 12-31-2017 / $12.00, effective 12-31-2018 / $13.00, effective 12-31-2019 / $14.00, effective 12-31-2020 / $15.00, effective 12-31-2021 2016, by legislation $7.50 $8.00, effective 12-31-2018 / $8.65, effective 12-31-2019 / $9.35, effective 12-31-2020 / $10.00, effective 12-31-2021 2016, by state legislation New York’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the greater of $7.50 or two thirds of the regular minimum wage or the prevailing minimum wage of a given geography. This rate applies to all tipped workers except those in the fast food industry, who are subject to a separate minimum-wage schedule.
 North Carolina $7.25 The North Carolina minimum wage is set equal to the federal minimum wage by statute. $2.13 North Carolina’s tipped minimum wage is set equal to the federal tipped minimum wage by statute.
 North Dakota $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 6-24-2009 2007, by legislation $4.86 $4.39 to $4.86, effective 6-24-2009 North Dakota’s tipped minimum wage is set at 67 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Ohio $8.15 $8.10 to $8.15, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W U.S., city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents. 2006, by constitutional amendment $4.08 $4.05 to $4.08, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Ohio’s tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Oklahoma $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 6-24-2009 State minimum wage of $2.00 applies to workers in companies with fewer than 10 employees or who work for businesses with gross annual sales less than $100,000. All others subject to federal minimum. $2.13
 Oregon $10.25 $9.75 to $10.25, effective 7-1-2017 $10.75, effective 7-1-2018 / $11.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $12.00, effective 7-1-2020 / $12.75, effective 7-1-2021 / $13.50, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 Annual increases based on the March-to-March change in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents. 2016, by legislation Base minimum wage for the state. State law establishes separate minimum-wage rates for the Portland Urban Growth Boundary area and designated non-urban counties. $10.25 $9.75 to $10.25, effective 7-1-2017 $10.75, effective 7-1-2018 / $11.25, effective 7-1-2019 / $12.00, effective 7-1-2020 / $12.75, effective 7-1-2021 / $13.50, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2022 2016, by legislation Same as regular minimum wage.
 Oregon Portland Urban Growth Boundary $11.25 $9.75 to $11.25, effective 7-1-2017 $12.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $12.50, effective 7-1-2019 / $13.25, effective 7-1-2020 / $14.50, effective 7-1-2021 / $14.75, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 Annual increases to base minimum wage based on the March-to-March change in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents. Portland UGB’s rate is then set to $1.25 greater than the base rate. 2016, by legislation Region’s minimum wage to be set at $1.25 greater than the base minimum wage when indexing begins on July 1, 2023. $11.25 $9.75 to $11.25, effective 7-1-2017 $12.00, effective 7-1-2018 / $12.50, effective 7-1-2019 / $13.25, effective 7-1-2020 / $14.50, effective 7-1-2021 / $14.75, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 2016, by legislation Same as regular minimum wage.
 Oregon Non-urban counties $10.00 $9.50 to $10.00, effective 7-1-2017 $10.50, effective 7-1-2018 / $11.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $11.50, effective 7-1-2020 / $12.00, effective 7-1-2021 / $12.50, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 Annual increases to base minimum wage based on the March-to-March change in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, rounded to nearest 5 cents. Non-urban counties’ rate is then set to $1.00 less than the base rate. 2016, by legislation Non-urban counties include Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler counties. The region’s minimum wage is to be set at $1.00 less than the base minimum wage when indexing begins on July 1, 2023. $10.00 $9.50 to $10.00, effective 7-1-2017 $10.50, effective 7-1-2018 / $11.00, effective 7-1-2019 / $11.50, effective 7-1-2020 / $12.00, effective 7-1-2021 / $12.50, effective 7-1-2022 / Annual indexing beginning 7-1-2023 2016, by legislation Same as regular minimum wage.
 Pennsylvania $7.25 Pennsylvania’s minimum wage is set equal to the federal minimum wage by statute. $2.83
 Rhode Island $9.60 $9.00 to $9.60, effective 1-1-2016 2015, by legislation $3.89 $3.39 to $3.89, effective 1-1-2016 $3.89, effective 1-1-2017 2015, by legislation
 South Carolina
 South Dakota $8.65 $8.55 to $8.65, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the percentage change in the CPI, rounded to the nearest 5 cents. 2014, by ballot measure $4.33 $4.28 to $4.33, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 2014, by ballot measure South Dakota’s tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Tennessee Tennessee has a promised wage law whereby the employers are responsible for paying to the employees the wages promised by the employer.
 Texas $7.25 Texas’s minimum wage is set equal to the federal minimum wage by statute. $2.13
 Utah $7.25 Utah excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. $2.13
 Vermont $10.00 $9.60 to $10.00, effective 1-1-2017 $10.50, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases of the smaller of 5 percent of the current minimum, or the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-U, U.S. city average, beginning January 1, 2019 2014, by legislation Vermont started indexing in January 2007. $5.00 $4.80 to $5.00, effective 1-1-2017 $5.25, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 2014, by legislation Vermont’s tipped minimum wage is set at 50 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Virginia $7.25 Virginia’s minimum wage is set to the federal minimum wage by statute. $2.13
 Washington $11.00 $9.47 to $11.00, effective 1-1-2017 $11.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.50, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, beginning 1-1-2021. 2016, by ballot measure Washington was the first state to enact annual inflation indexing in 2001. $11.00 $9.47 to $11.00, effective 1-1-2017 $11.50, effective 1-1-2018 / $12.00, effective 1-1-2019 / $13.50, effective 1-1-2020 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2021 2016, by ballot measure Same as regular minimum wage
 Washington Seattle $15.00 $13.00 to $15.00, effective 1-1-2017 For employers with more than 500 employees: annual indexing beginning 1-1-2018 / For employers with 500 or fewer employees: $14.00, effective 1-1-2018; $15.00, effective 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W Seattle enacted its own minimum wage in 2014 by city council ordinance Employers may credit a portion of employee tips or benefits paid to employee health care benefits against the required minimum wage. Employers with 500 or fewer employees have a lower minimum wage of $13.00. $15.00 $13.00 to $15.00, effective 1-1-2017 For employers with more than 500 employees: annual indexing beginning 1-1-2018 / For employers with 500 or fewer employees: $11.50, effective 1-1-2018; $12.00, effective 1-1-2019; $13.50, effective 1-1-2020; $15.00, effective 1-1-2021 Seattle enacted its own tipped wage in 2014 by city council ordinance Large employers (more than 500 employees) are not allowed to credit tips against the city’s minimum wage. Small employers (500 or fewer employees) may credit $1.00 per hour in tips against the city’s minimum wage (for a tipped minimum wage of $10.50 per hour).
 Washington SeaTac $15.34 $15.24 to $15.34, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average 2013, by city council ordinance SeaTac’s minimum wage applies only to hospitality and transportation workers within the city. $15.34 $15.24 to $15.34, effective 1-1-2017 Annual indexing effective January 1 2013, by city council ordinance SeaTac’s tipped minimum wage is the same as the regular minimum wage. The ordinance specifies that service charges must be paid directly to the nonmanagerial, nonsupervisory workers who perform the direct service to customers.
Washington Tacoma $11.15 $10.35 to $11.15, effective 1-1-2017 $12.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Annual increases based on the August-to-August percentage change in the CPI-W, U.S. city average, beginning 1-1-2019 Tacoma enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by ballot measure $11.15 $10.35 to $11.15, effective 1-1-2017 $12.00, effective 1-1-2018 / Annual indexing beginning 1-1-2019 Tacoma enacted its own minimum wage in 2015 by ballot measure Same as regular minimum wage
 West Virginia $8.75 $8.00 to $8.75, effective 12-31-2015 2014, by legislation $2.63 $2.40 to $2.63, effective 1-1-2016 2014, by legislation West Virginia’s tipped minimum wage is set at 30 percent of the regular minimum wage.
 Wisconsin $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 6-1-2009 $2.33
 Wyoming $5.15 $1.60 to $5.15, effective 1-1-2002 2001, by legislation $2.13
Federal $7.25 $6.55 to $7.25, effective 7-24-2009 2007 The Fair Labor Standards Act excludes any business with gross annual revenue less than $500,000 whose employees do not engage in “interstate commerce.” It also contains a variety of smaller occupational exclusions, such as those for telephone switchboard operators, private investigators, and babysitters. $2.13 $2.09 to $2.13 effective 4-1-1991 1996 Until 1996 the federal tipped minimum wage was set as a percentage of the regular minimum wage. When the regular minimum wage was increased in 1996, the tipped minimum wage was fixed at $2.13.
Filter states

Notes

In states with no minimum-wage law (Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee) or minimum wages below the federal minimum wage (Georgia and Wyoming), the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies.

Many states exclude very small businesses, such as those with fewer than five employees or those with gross annual revenue below a specified threshold. Many also contain a variety of smaller occupational exclusions and in some cases, exclusions for seasonal and part-time youth workers. The exclusions listed here are not exhaustive; they only highlight the more significant or noteworthy exclusions to minimum-wage laws.

“CPI” refers to the Consumer Price Index, as calculated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

“CPI-U” refers to the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, as calculated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

“CPI-W” refers to the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers, as calculated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.